2014 Book Challenge

In March of this year I challenged myself to read 50 books in the year 2014. Let’s not talk about the fact that I made a challenge for a full year, 3 months into said year. 😐 I’ve been a book reader since I was a kid. I would spend my saturday wrapped in my bed with chapter books, not leaving the room till the book was done. When I was grounded for doing something I would sit in my room and not being allowed to do anything else I would sit and read. It took a while but my mom finally realized that I was actually enjoying my punishment and took my books away. I would LOVE school days when we would sit in the library. Most of the kids would sit at the computers playing The Oregon Trail, I would read books. Book fair days? Don’t even get me started. My mom was really great about feeding my love of books. She couldn’t always buy much, but I always got at least 1. And then one year… Oh man. One year, I was able to purchase my membership into the Baby Sitter’s Club. Quite possible, the best day of childhood. Another thing that my mom fueled was my collection of books. I don’t have nearly as much as I want, but I’m only 27. I have a long lifetime to collect. But my mom always told me that you never throw books away. Give them away, share them with others, but books are never trash. They are always something to be learned from. But more than that, for me, books were an escape. I didn’t have such a terrible childhood that I need to escape, but it was my way of traveling worlds, making friends, and going on adventures. Which is also why The Neverending Story is one of my favorite movies. That was my childhood.

So, now, getting back to my 50 Book Challenge. I love reading books, but sometimes it’s hard to get engulfed in a book. Sometimes it takes a little longer to really get into it. So, my challenge is not doing so well. And for some reason the other day I got the itch. I got the reading itch. I searched through my library and nothing was jumping out at me, so I knew that I needed a book buying trip. I could have gone to the dollar bookstore (which I LOVE doing, and do all the time) but for some reason this trip needed to be brand spanking new. And Amazon just wasn’t going to cut it. I need to feel the books, I needed to sit and read it a little, feel the pages. Books just aren’t the same on a kindle, on an iPad or iPhone. I’m sorry, but no. Books always.

So, hopefully the 4 new books will be added to my very small list of books that I’ve completed. I have a TON of books waiting on my “to-read” list on Goodreads so maybe they will make their way to the “read” list.

Here is my list so far:

1. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
2. Divergent – Veronica Roth
3. Insugent – Veronica Roth
4. Allegiant – Veronica Roth
5. The Maze Runner – James Dashner
6. Attachments – Rainbow Rowell
7. Eleanor & Park* – Rainbow Rowell
8. If I Stay – Gale Forman
9. Children of the City – Tiffany Pastor
10. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
11. The Giver – Lois Lowry
12. Landline – Rainbow Rowell
13. Love Letter to the Dead – Ava Dellaira
14. Gone Girl* – Gillian Flynn
15. Delirium – Lauren Oliver
16. Finding Alaska – John Green
17. One For The Money – Janet Evanovich**

* My Favorite So Far
** Currently Reading

I leave you with one of my favorite quotes: I wholeheartedly feel this way.

upk441gz

Leave a Reply

